Saturday 20 June 2020

Update on ECFMG certification for 2021 Match

As it has always been, to be ECFMG certified, applicants need to pass Step 1, Step 2 and Step 2 Clincal skills exam. Due to covid-19 pandemic Step clinical skills (CS) exam is suspended for 18-22 months. Below is a brief synopsis for an alternate way that IMGs can qualify for ECFMG certification.

These alternatives allow qualified IMGs get certification . If ECFMG or USMLE has barred you, then you are not eligible. Failing Step 1, Step 2 CK or CS, two or more times also disqualifies the applicant.

Unrestricted license to practice in another country is eligible for FIRST PATHWAY.  The license must be full, unrestricted and obtained after Jan 01, 2015. Applicants who have passed another standardized clinical exam are eligible for SECOND PATHWAY. This is for applicants from UK, Australia, Canada,  New Zealand and Ireland. THIRD PATHWAY, if World federation for medical education has accredited your medical school. All medical schools in North America, some in south America are part of the accreditation. Many countries in Europe are NOT part of this accreditation. The list includes China and Russia but not India. Details here . FOURTH PATHWAY is if medical school is participating in US Fed student loan program. FIFTH PATHWAY is for LCME accredited medical schools.

More details at

No comments:

Post a Comment

HOT Topics ! Popular by Demand